The Secret is Out:

Electric vehicles are hot!

Thousands of Canadians want to buy an electric vehicle, or EV. That's because they're fun to drive, affordable to run and maintain, and will go the distance—all while helping keep our air clean.

Electric vehicles have come a long way and are quickly merging into the mainstream. Credit unbeatable performance, bigger and more powerful batteries that let us roam farther between charges, and public charge points popping up everywhere.


Our Challenge:

Where are Canada’s “missing” EVs?

Unfortunately, Canadians don’t yet have access to the full range of electric cars available in the United States—particularly those offered in California, where a law requires car companies to sell a minimum percentage of zero-emissions vehicles.

Those EVs that we can buy are only available in very limited quantities. Wait lists are also common.

We just aren’t getting anywhere near the quantity and selection that our neighbours in the United States enjoy. That’s not right.


The Solution:

A strong Zero-Emissions Vehicle Strategy

Our government needs to make sure Canadians have access to the same range of electric vehicles on the market in California and other U.S. states. After all, a new car is a big commitment. Why shouldn’t Canadians have the chance to try before we buy?

The federal government’s forthcoming national Zero-Emissions Vehicle Strategy is our best opportunity.

If Ottawa requires a set portion of all the vehicles sold in Canada to be electric, that will push automakers to make more EVs available for Canadian drivers to buy or lease. And research shows that when there are more EVs around to consider, more people will choose them.


Take Action:

Help lead the charge

Here’s where you come in.

Contact the two federal ministers who are heading up the National Zero-Emissions Vehicle Strategy. Tell them you want the plan to include policies—like those used in California—that will significantly increase the supply of electric cars in Canada. Write to: 

  • The Honourable Marc Garneau, Minister of Transportation. Email:
  • The Honourable Navdeep Singh Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development. Email:

Here is a sample letter you can send them:

Dear Ministers,

Please ensure the forthcoming Canadian Zero-Emissions Vehicle Strategy strategy includes policies designed to significantly increase the supply of electric vehicles across the country. California's mandate offers a great example of effective policy.

Canadians deserve more access to electric vehicles, and our governments should make sure the auto industry lets us choose for ourselves. Thank you in advance for your leadership.

Please also consider including your own Member of Parliament on your message. (If you aren't sure who that is, you can search for your representative in Ottawa by entering your postal code on this page.)  Thank you!

About Us is a collaboration between five Canadian organizations and institutions working to advance electric mobility: The Atmospheric Fund, Clean Energy Canada, Environmental Defence Canada, Equiterre, and the SFU Sustainable Transportation Action Research Team.

Ce n’est maintenant plus un secret :

Les véhicules électriques ont la cote !

Des milliers de Canadiens souhaitent se procurer un véhicule électrique (ou VE) : ils sont agréables à conduire, abordables à faire rouler et à entretenir, et ils tiennent la distance en matière d’autonomie tout en contribuant à maintenir notre air propre.

Les véhicules électriques ont beaucoup évolué, et ils percent le marché grand public à une vitesse effrénée. Des performances inégalées, des batteries à capacité et à puissance améliorées qui permettent d’aller toujours plus loin entre les recharges, ainsi qu’une abondance de bornes de recharge publiques contribuent à cet engouement.

battery-bolt

Notre défi :

Où sont les voitures électriques qui manquent au Canada ?

Malheureusement, les Canadiens n’ont toujours pas accès à toute la gamme de véhicules électriques que l’on retrouve aux États-Unis, particulièrement en Californie où une loi exige qu’un certain pourcentage de tous les véhicules vendus par les constructeurs automobiles soient des véhicules zéro émission.

Les seuls VE que nous avons la possibilité d’acheter au Canada sont disponibles en quantités très limitées, et les listes d’attente sont courantes.

Nous sommes bien loin de bénéficier de la quantité et de la sélection de modèles que l’on retrouve chez nos voisins du Sud. Cette situation est insensée.

maple-leaf

La solution :

Une solide stratégie relative aux véhicules zéro émission

Notre gouvernement doit faire en sorte que les Canadiens aient accès à toute la gamme de véhicules électriques qui sont sur le marché californien et ailleurs aux États-Unis. Après tout, l’achat d’un véhicule représente un engagement important. Pourquoi les Canadiens n’ont-ils pas la chance d’essayer ce type de véhicule avant de l’acheter ?

La future stratégie nationale relative aux véhicules zéro émission du gouvernement fédéral représente une occasion unique de remédier à cette situation.

Si Ottawa exige qu’un pourcentage déterminé de véhicules vendus au Canada soient des véhicules électriques, les constructeurs automobiles seront contraints d’offrir aux Canadiens davantage de VE pour l’achat ou la location. Les recherches ont démontré que si davantage de VE sont offerts aux consommateurs, ces derniers sont plus enclins à les acheter.

parliament

Passez à l'action :

Contribuez à mener la charge

C’est ici que vous entrez en scène ! Remplissez le formulaire ci-dessous afin de communiquer avec les ministres fédéraux responsables de la stratégie nationale relative aux véhicules zéro émission. Faites-leur savoir que celle-ci doit inclure une politique similaire à la Californie afin d’augmenter considérablement l’offre de voitures électriques au Canada.

Nous ajouterons à votre message le nom de votre député(e) ainsi que les noms des ministres des Transports et de l’Environnement de votre province ou territoire.

Merci de faire en sorte que les Canadiens puissent faire leurs propres choix en matière de VE!

À propos de nous

L’initiative choixVE.ca est née de la collaboration entre les cinq institutions et organismes canadiens suivants voués à l’avancement de la mobilité électrique : le Toronto Atmospheric Fund, Clean Energy Canada, Environmental Defence Canada, Equiterre, et le Groupe de recherche en transport durable (START) de l’Université Simon Fraser.